Top 10 inspirational travel quotes

Posted on Updated on

I always think that I don’t need inspiration for travel, I’m such an avid traveler that just the goal of the trip itself is my inspiration to plan it. But the truth is that I love reading about travels, I read everything: magazines, guides, blogs, surf the web from start to finish, looking for my next destination, my next adventure, my next culinary discovery, the local customs I’ll discover… and a long etc. I love dreaming imagining about how it’s going to be like, I think it’s one of the things I most enjoy in life.

Another thought. Two days ago I started reading a brazilian self-help book my husband recently bought me. I don’t know if he bought it to help me learn portuguese or if because he thinks I need the self-help part of it… anyways, one of the chapters said how you need to learn how to travel to be fulfilled, she emphasized the learn-how-to-travel. At first I laughed about how can one not know how to travel? I afterwards reflected that with time I have also learned how to do it, little by little, destination by destination… I encourage everyone with fear towards the unknown to risk it, to book your ticket, to interact with the locals, to eat their food, etc. It doesn’t matter if you don’t speak their language, you’ll manage!

I want to leave you with my favorites quotes about travel, just to help you inspire for this next summer vacation, for your gap year, for your honeymoon, for your next family trip….

Am I missing any? What inspires you to travel? Please share it with us!

1. “One’s destination is never a place, but a new way of seeing things.” – Henry Miller
Quote
2. “The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.” – St. Augustine

3. “Certainly, travel is more than the seeing of sights; it is a change that goes on, deep and permanent, in the ideas of living.” – Miriam Beard

4. “The use of traveling is to regulate imagination by reality, and instead of thinking how things may be, to see them as they are.” – Samuel Johnson

5. “Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness.” – Mark Twain

6. “Tourists don’t know where they’ve been, travelers don’t know where they’re going.” – Paul Theroux
Quote
7. “If you reject the food, ignore the customs, fear the religion and avoid the people, you might better stay at home.” – James Michener

8. “Do not follow where the path may lead. Go instead where there is no path and leave a trail” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

9. “To get to know a country, you must have direct contact with the earth. It’s futile to gaze at the world through a car window.” – Albert Einstein

10. “There are no foreign lands. It is the traveler only who is foreign.” – Robert Louis Stevenson

Enjoy !!Lake Atitlan, Guatemala

Leave a Reply

